5 ways to not go stir crazy when you work from home

I have recently taken a job that has me working from home. At first glance, this is an amazing situation, I get to wear my leggings and fiance’s sweatshirts all day while I work in the comfort of my own home, with sitcoms on in the background (because you don’t really have to pay attention to them so they are the least distracting TV show genre) and a full pot of coffee at my finger tips.

Trust me when I say that I love my job and I like wearing my leggings but every once in a while you get a little stir crazy. You get a little antsy to put on your nice pants, or at least a nice shirt, and your jewelry and go to the office. You go a little crazy with no one to talk to all day but yourself.

I am a social person, which makes working from home harder for me than I thought it would – but it does allow for my creativity to shine through, I have always been more creative at home or in a coffee shop instead of in an office setting.

So I have found a few ways to help with put the kibosh on the stir crazy feeling and really like your creativity shine.

Work from a coffee shop
Nothing beats getting a fresh cup of coffee, a muffin and hearing the hustle and bustle of the people around you. You can put on your jeans and nice shirt on. Throw on a bit of jewelry and hit the coffee shop. Even if you don’t talk to anyone putting on “real clothes” can turn your entire day around.

Go to the gym and take group fitness classes
Group fitness is a great way to get a some motivation to push yourself harder as well as a great way to make new friends. I know that sounds a little kindergarten but it really works. If you get really adventurous like me, you can take the early morning classes and kick off your day with a great work out and some social interaction. You will be amazed what it can do for your self esteem and concentration throughout the day.

Split your day: have lunch with a friend
Chances are at least one of your friends can break free from the office occasionally to have lunch with you. While this is not an everyday way to do things. It is a good way to get out if you are have been trapped in your home office for days. That quick hour lunch is a sure fire way to rejuvenate that brain and get your focus back.

Buy a dog: They are not called man’s best friend for nothing
I know this doesn’t apply to everyone and I know talking to your dog seems a bit crazy. But hear me out, my little dachshund brightens my day every time I seem him. When I am having a bad day, all I have to do it cuddle him and I feel better. Plus he is great to brainstorm with, he will never tell me my ideas are bad.

And if all else fails – open the window
So if you don’t like working out, hate dogs and coffee shops are distracting to you, at the very least open the window in your office. The fresh air, if the weather agrees, is a great way to uplift spirits and not make you feel stuck in the office. A simple open window with a bit of sunlight and fresh air streaming through is the best way to work at home without ever feeling trapped in your home.

Working from home is all glamour in your sweats and slippers but sometimes you just need to feel like you are part of the outside world.

Leave a Reply

